2023 CAF Women’s Champions League Begins Nov 5 In Cote d’Ivoire

The Confederation of African Football has announced that the 2023 CAF Women’s Champions League – now on its third year in a row – will be played in Côte d’Ivoire between November 5th to November 19th, 2023.

The competition will serve as a dress rehearsal for the West African nation as the country prepares to host the TotalEnergies CAF Africa Cup of Nations in January 2024.

Cote d’Ivoire will have an opportunity to use this year’s CAF Women’s Champions League tournament to not only showcase its state of readiness in infrastructure but in mobilizing the country.

The tournament is expected to bring together the best female football clubs across Africa as part of CAF’s commitment to improve women’s football in Africa.

Nigeria representative Delta Queens will hope to qualify for the CAF Women’s Champions League from WAFU B zone.

won the maiden edition in Egypt in 2021.

The maiden edition, hosted in Egypt, was won by Mamelodi Sundowns of South Africa in 2021.

ASFAR Ladies of Morocco defeated the then defending champions Mamelodi Sundowns of South Africa in Rabat in the 2022 edition to emerge champions on home soil.

Prize money breakdown:

Winners:                    USD 400 000

Runners-up:              USD 250 000

Semi-finalists (2)      USD 200 000

Third of Group (2)    USD 150 000

Fourth of Group (2) USD 100 000

Qualification Route:

The road to the CAF Women’s Champions League 2023 final tournament will continue in most parts of the continent.

In most parts, the qualified Clubs will be confirmed by next month, August 2023.

Qualifiers schedule:

– WAFU A (5 to 13 August): Monrovia, Liberia

– CECAFA (12 to 31 August): Njeru & Kampala, Uganda

– WAFU B (18 to 31 August): Benin City, Nigeria.

– UNAF (24 to 30 August): Oran, Algeria

– COSAFA (8 to 16 September): Durban, South Africa


Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top