Club Owners Association Elects New Executive

Nigeria Premier League (NPL) Club Owners Association has a new executive.

In a brief and peaceful election conducted by the 20 clubs at Sandralia hotel in Abuja on Monday afternoon, Rivers United Football Club of Port Harcourt General Manager, Chief Okey Kpalukwu was elected Chairman, while the Presidents of Remo Stars Football Club of Ikenne, Ogun state Honourable Kunle Soname and Doma United Football Club of Gombe state, Alhaji Suleiman Umar were elected Vice Chairmen to represent the South and Northern parts of Nigeria.

Sporting Lagos Football Club of Lagos chairman, Godwin Enakhena emerged the association’s new General Secretary while Rangers International of Enugu Administrative Secretary Barrister Ferdinand Ugwuarua is the new Coordinator of the body.

Speaking on behalf of the new team that has a 2-year tenure, Chief Kpalukwu promised an all inclusive regime that will ensure that everyone’s voice and suggestions will be respected. On his part, Hon Soname is confident that the new leadership will be focused and won’t be carried away by selfish interest but will work as a collective in the interests of the game.

In another development, the names of Chief Kpalukwu, Alhaji Umar and Dominic Iorfa have been forwarded to the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) for consideration for membership of the Nigeria Premier League (NPL); this was in response to a request from the football governing body.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top