Manchester City Become 8th Club To Win The Treble, As Pep Becomes First To Win Two

Manchester City have won the Champions League title for the first time in their history, after beating Inter Milan 1-0 on Saturday June 10 in Ataturk Olympic Stadium, Istanbul, making them the second English team to complete the treble after Manchester United achieved same feat in 1998-99 season.

Spaniard Rodri scored the only goal of the match in the 68th minute after receiving Bernardo Silva’s cutback pass and fired through a crowded penalty box, to see the Premier League champions and FA Cup winners complete a treble of trophies this season.

City have now joined seven other elite European clubs to win the treble in a single season.

◉ 1966/67 Celtic
◉ 1971/72 Ajax
◉ 1987/88 PSV
◉ 1998/99 Man Utd
◉ 2008/09 Barcelona
◉ 2009/10 Inter
◉ 2012/13 Bayern
◉ 2014/15 Barcelona
◉ 2019/20 Bayern
◉ 2022/23 Man City

Celtic: 1966/67

Celtic competed for five trophies in the 1966–67 season, winning all of them. The Bhoys triumphed in the Scottish League, the Scottish Cup, the Scottish League Cup, the Glasgow Cup, and the European Cup, scoring a world record total of 196 goals in the process and also marking the only-ever European Quintuple.

Ajax: 1971/72

Ajax won the Eredivisie, the KNVB Cup and the European Cup in 1971–72. Managed by Stefan Kovacs, the Amsterdam club lost just one of their 34 league matches, drawing a further three. Johan Cruyff was their top-scorer in the league, hitting 25 league goals and 33 in all competitions that season, including a brace against Inter in the European Cup final.

PSV Eindhoven: 1987/88

Total football was in its latter stages, but the Dutch sides still dominated Europe. PSV Eindhoven copied Ajax before them by winning the Eredivisie, the KNVB Cup and the European Cup. They were coached by Guus Hiddink at the time and had the likes of Ronald Koeman and Wim Kieft among their ranks, the latter of which was the top-scorer of the season with 29 goals in all competitions.

Manchester United: 1998-99

Sir Alex Ferguson led Manchester United to the first-ever treble to be won by an English side. The club had already been dominating the Premier League since its inception in 1992/93, winning four of the first six campaigns.

But it was this campaign that truly cemented Ferguson’s legacy at Man Utd. They faced Bayern Munich in the final of the Champions League. The Germans led 1-0 for most of the game, before two goals in injury time secured the title for the Red Devils in the most dramatic fashion.

Barcelona: 2008/09

Pep Guardiola could not have started any better in his first year as Barca manager, winning the Copa del Rey, La Liga, and the Champions League. What’s more impressive was that the Spaniard did so after losing legends such as Lilian Thuram, Deco and Ronaldinho in the summer before.
Luckily Barcelona still were rich with talent in the squad. The likes of Samuel Eto’o and Lionel Messi were on hand as the club started its new era under the Spaniard.

After a bruising two-way clash with Chelsea in the semi-finals, the Catalans faced Man Utd at the final in Rome. The side brushed off Ferguson’s men to secure the silverware, in what was an indication of the utter dominance that would proceed in the subsequent seasons.

Inter Milan: 2009/10

Jose Mourinho became a legend of Inter with his incredible feat for the side. It was Mourinho’s second season in charge of the club, having come after his time with Chelsea.

Inter had its greatest-ever season under the Special One. They scooped the Serie A for the fifth consecutive season, the country’s Coppa Italia, as well as the Champions League. They beat Barcelona in the semi-finals of the competition before taking the trophy with a victory over Bayern Munich. Diego Milito was the club’s top-scorer for the campaign, finding the net 30 times in all competitions and twice in the Champions League final.

Bayern Munich: 2012/13 season

Bayern Munich became the first German team to ever win the treble in the 2012/13 season. In what was Jupp Heynckes’ final campaign with the club before Guardiola took over, he won all that there was to be won. During the course of the season, Bayern either broke or equalled 30 Bundesliga records – including the most points during a season (91), the fastest time to clinch title (just 28 matches), and the most wins in a season (29.) As if that wasn’t enough, they won the Champions League against Borussia Dortmund, beating their German rivals 2-1 at Wembley.

Barcelona: 2014/15 season

Luis Enrique led Barcelona to their second treble in the space of six years. They had a front trio of Luis Suarez, Neymar and Messi, while the midfield three consisted of Sergio Busquets, Xavi, and Andres Iniesta. It was a stunning campaign, with Barca then still very much considered the greatest performing side of the past 30 years or more. They beat Real Madrid to the title by two points – and their Champions League title was won against Juventus, with the Spanish outfit beating the Old Lady 3-1 in Berlin.

Bayern Munich: 2019/20 season

Contending with the losses of Franck Ribery and Arjen Robben wasn’t so bad for Bayern in the 2019/20 season. The Germans won another treble with Hansi Flick taking charge in November. Robert Lewandowski scored 55 in all competitions, while the club beat Paris Saint-Germain in the final 1-0. Their 7-1 aggregate win over Chelsea in the round of 16 was a particular highlight though.

While this is City’s first-ever champions league triumph, it is the third time Pep Guardiola has lifted the trophy as a coach. Pep also becomes the first manager to win a treble on two occasions, having done it with Barcelona in 2008-09 season.

Credit: Football Transfers

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top