Nigeria Rugby Team Depart for Mauritius Ahead Of 2024 Olympic Qualifiers

Nigeria’s senior men national rugby team, the Stallions have departed the shores of the country for Mauritius venue of the Paris 2024 pre Olympic qualifiers.

The team which left via Ethiopian airlines on Tuesday June 20 is led by the President of the federation, Dr Ademola Are, in company of the federation’s General Manager, Azeez Ladipo and Secretary, Sani Muhammed and two homebased players.

The contingent will link up with other players who are arriving from Europe and the United States of America for the showpiece which will see Nigeria face Ghana, Burundi and DR Congo in pool A of the qualifier.

Mauritania, Botswana, Lesotho and Algeria are in pool B of the competition while Pool C houses Senegal, Cameroon, Egypt and Cote D’ivoire

Top three teams will qualify to compete in the Africa Cup Sevens in Zimbabwe later in September.

Nigeria Rugby Team Squad

  1. Aniebonam David Kosisochukwu – (Wimbledon RFC)
  2. Awobowale Olukolade Mobolaji – (Stallions RFC)
  3. Esiri Aaron – Asher Chinedu – (Bournvile RFC)
  4. Etim Gabriel John – (Barewa RFC, Kano)
  5. Goualin Pierre Henri – (Old Priorians RFC)
  6. Henrry-Ajudua Chukwuyem Frederick – (Atlanta Major League Rugby)
  7. Ilube Matthew Maurice – (Old Priorians RFC)
  8. Jatto Onoru-Oyiza – (Cowrie RFC, Lagos)
  9. Lipede Adenekan Jojoola – (Old Colfeians RFC)
  10. Nwachukwu Declan Chinedu – (Horsham RFC)
  11. Odunlami Oluwadara Olufewa – (University of Bath RFC)
  12. Onyeahasi Alexander George – (Clifton RFC)

Lewis Stephen John – Head Coach
Sani Mohammed – SG
Azeez Ladipo – GM

Credit: Tolulope Oguntimehin

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top