NPFL picks 5 centres as inaugural NPFL U-17 league gets kick-off date

The Nigeria Premier Football League Limited (NPFL) has selected five centres to host the inaugural edition of the Nigeria Premier Football League U-17 tournament which is slated to kick-off in February 2024.

Lafia, Ekiti, Awka, Kaduna and Asaba were listed as the host cities for the abridged version of the developmental league.

This was made known in a letter signed by the chairman of The NPFL U-17 Youth League organising committee, Emeka Inyama and sent to clubs.

The league kicks off on the 1st of February, 2024 with five groups comprising of four teams each. According to the league’s governing body, the groupings are made with consideration to teams in the same region with each group witnessing three games each, to be played simultaneously across the centres.

The first-placed team in all groups will qualify for the championship play-off where they will play another round-robin format in a centre to be later decided by the organisers.

The groups are as follows

Group A — Kaduna Zone
Doma United
Gombe United
Kano Pillars
Katsina United

Group B — Lafia Zone

Kwara United
Lobi Stars
Niger Tornadoes
Plateau United

Group C — Asaba Zone

Akwa United
Bayelsa United
Bendel Insurance
Rivers United

Group D — Ekiti Zone

Remo Stars
Shooting Stars
Sporting Lagos
Sunshine Stars

Group E — Awka Zone

Abia Warriors
Enyimba International
Heartland FC
Rangers International

The group matches will last for three days — February 1st to 3rd, 2024.

The championship play-off draw is scheduled for February 12th 2024 while the playoffs will be played from February 13th – 17th, 2024.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top